Health & Social Care

This qualification aims to provide an introduction to study of the health and social care sector and is for the student interested in learning about this sector as part of a balanced study programme.

What’s it about?

Entry requirements

Apply now

It is intended as an Applied General qualification, and is equivalent in size to one A Level. It supports access to a range of higher education courses, possibly in health and social care, if taken alongside further level 3 qualifications.

The qualification carries UCAS points and is recognised by Higher Education providers as contributing to meeting admission requirements to many courses.

For example, if taken alongside:

  • A Levels in Biology and Psychology, it could lead to a BSc (Hons) in Nursing
  • A Levels in English and History, it could lead to a BA (Hons) in Primary Education

The Course Structure

OCR Cambridge Technicals Extended Certificate in Health and Social Care.

The content of this qualification has been developed to supports progression towards higher study. In addition, employers and professional bodies have confirmed that the content is also appropriate for those interested in working in the sector.

There are four mandatory units:

  • Unit 1 (internal): Building positive relationships in health and social care
  • Unit 2 (external): Equality, diversity and rights in health and social care
  • Unit 3 (external): Health, safety and security in health and social care
  • Unit 4 (external): Anatomy and physiology

There are two additional units that students will take, both internal:

  • Unit 13: Sexual health, reproduction, and early development stages
  • Unit 24: Public health

So in total, assessment is a combination of 4 exams and 3 pieces of coursework.


Potential Careers

  • Audiology
  • Midwifery
  • Nursing
  • Pharmacy manager
  • Podiatry
  • Primary teaching
  • Psychology
  • Radiotherapy
  • Social work

 Entry Requirements

Subject Qualification (Level 3) Required GCSE Grades
(in addition to Sixth Form entry requirements)
Additional Information
Health & Social Care Cambridge Technical